kacinews-sm  kacifm-sm  kihr-sm  kcgb-sm  kmsw-sm
Columbia River Weather
Wednesday 20%
High 51° / Low 49°
Chance of Rain
Thursday 70%
High 60° / Low 39°
Partly Cloudy
Friday 10%
High 53° / Low 37°

eDeals click and save long banner61090

Three Nominated For District 59 Vacancy

Three people have been nominated to fill the remainder of John Huffman’s term as Oregon State Representative for District 59.  Mae Huston of Jefferson County, Bob Perry of Deschutes County, and Daniel Bonham of The Dalles are the nominees.  Republican committee members from Wasco, Jefferson, Deschutes, and Wheeler counties made the selections over the weekend.  County Commissioners from the four counties will meet to make the appointment.  No date has been set for that to take place, but under state law it must occur by November 30.  Huffman resigned last month as he accepted an appointment from the U.S. Department of Agriculture.  His term expires at the end of 2018.