Wasco County Election Summary

North Wasco County School District 21’s ambitious 20-year bond measure to fund construction of four new schools in that time period went down to defeat.  59 percent of voters rejected the measure.  5,233 said no, to 3,608 saying yes.  The Dufur School District’s bond measure was approved 620 to 294…while a measure to prohibit certain marijuana registrants and licensees in Dufur passed narrowly…178 to 163.  A five-year general operations levy for the White River Health District was rejected 590-to-542.  The two incumbents seeking to retain their seats on The Dalles City Council did so.  For position one Tim McGlothlin received 2,720 votes to 2,165 for Chip Wood….and Russ Brown was re-elected to position three with 2,569 votes to 2,283 for Tiffany Prince.  For the Council’s at-large position…Rod Runyon was elected with 2,330 votes to 1,937 for Brian Stevens and 774 for John Fredrick.  Stan Ashbrook won seat two on the Dufur City Council…190-to-120 over Matt Brougher.  In Maupin…Lynn Ewing was elected as Mayor with 175 votes to 78 for Suzanne Knapp…while for Maupin City Council Randy Bechtol had 168 votes, Mike Foreaker 163, and Susan Wright 156 to win election, with Kathie Richey receiving 100 votes and Jim Holycross 99.