Wasco County Vote: Schwartz, Hege Win County Commission Elections

An incumbent was defeated in Tuesday’s Wasco County Commission election.  Former Wasco-Sherman County Health Department Director Kathy Schwartz won the vote for Position 3 over two-term incumbent Rod Runyon.  Schwartz received 59 percent of the vote, 3,431 to 2,383 for Runyon.  In the other Wasco County Commission race, incumbent Scott Hege won a third term on the panel with 67 percent of the vote, 3,457 to 1,684 for challenger Roy Justesen.  Also on the Tuesday Wasco County ballot, the Dufur Recreation District’s three-year local option tax was renewed by a large margin, 270 to 62.  But the White River Health District’s five-year local option tax for general operations was defeated 313 to 307.